12-Step Program for Worm Smokers?

I’m concerned one of my gardening buddies has a problem. Amanda Thomsen, newest blogger for Horticulture magazine (you can follow her on Twitter at @kissmyaster), posted the following: “I covered up the vermiculture smell with incense-now I smell like I’ve been smoking worms and I’m trying to hide it.”

Apparently, Amanda separated out some worms from her worm bin to give to a friend who was starting his or her own vermicompost. Amanda’s husband commented that she smelled “worm-y,” so Amanda lit some incense.

Concerned for my friend’s well-being, I responded promptly: “You do know that smoking worms leads to harder stuff; next thing you know, you’ll be popping rolly pollies (aka pill bugs).”

If anybody knows of a 12-step program for gardening junkies, please send me (@FarmerPhoebe) or @kissmyaster the link right away. Lives hang in the balance.

4 Responses to “12-Step Program for Worm Smokers?”


  1. 1 Martha December 29, 2008 at 8:53 pm

    Well, in all the time that we have been vermicomposting, I must admit we have never once smoked any of them.

    I can only assume you mean smoking worms like we smoke meat to make barbeque. Any sauce recipe suggestions to go with those smoked worms?

  2. 2 Phoebe King December 29, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    Eeeeeeewwww…that sounds even more gross than rolling ’em up in a joint! Fortunately, no worms were barbecued, puffed, or harmed in any way in the making of this story. 😉

  3. 3 Amanda December 30, 2008 at 6:06 am

    hahaha. Phoebe.
    I’m so wrapped up in cat drama I didn’t know you did this!
    You crack me up.

    The worms like their new house and have a very concerned mommy who is gonna fatten them up and multiply them…. and not smoke them!

  4. 4 Phoebe King December 30, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    Glad to hear they went to a good, fertile home. Hugs to your kitty. I hope he’s up and about and using the litter box soon.


Leave a Reply

What Flower Are You?

Follow Me on Twitter

RSS Mother Earth News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
Support the Department of Peace banner- 150w
Add to Technorati Favorites
December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

