New Use for 4 mil Black Plastic

Because I used to live in a zone 5 climate (now I’m in zone 4), I use black plastic to warm up my tomato and pepper beds in the spring. I keep a couple of sheets of 4-mm-thick black plastic in the Tool Shed (aka my car).

After amending the soil, I anchor the plastic with bricks, or whatever else is lying around, on top of the beds where I’ll transplant my heat-loving plants and let it sit there for a couple of weeks. We all know black absorbs the sun, so it helps to accelerate the sun’s warming effects AND smothers pesky weed seeds before they have much of a chance to take off.

4 mil black plastic is incredibly versatile!

4 mil black plastic is incredibly versatile!

I know 4 mil black plastic has a variety of other uses as well, such as makeshift rain poncho, wood chip carrier, ground cover for a picnic blanket, and most recently–a shower curtain!

I was 3 days at my new place in freezing cold Wisconsin and hadn’t yet ventured out to find a Target to stock up on the typical new home stuff: wastebaskets, shower caddy, shower curtain, you know, the usual stuff. I was dying for a shower but didn’t want water to spray all over, never even considered a bath (I’m just not much of a bath person) … what to do, what to do. Then it dawned on me that I still had some black plastic folded up neatly in the hatchback of my car! I draped it over the shower curtain rod and clipped it in place with a couple of binder clips at either end, rinsed last year’s dirt off of it, and it worked just fine! Best shower I’d had in a long time, as a matter of fact.

Rich Schefren, one of my small-business coaches, liked to remind us that entrepreneurs who were resourceful were often more successful than those who just looked for resources. I doubt he had 4 mil black plastic in mind when he said that.

4 Responses to “New Use for 4 mil Black Plastic”


  1. 1 Curtis January 12, 2009 at 4:47 am

    I would of never thought of that. But hey it works. Black plastic is the duct tape of the plastic world.

  2. 2 Curtis January 12, 2009 at 4:49 am

    Good stuff! I wonder what other uses the plastic can be put too.

  3. 3 NickE January 12, 2009 at 8:18 am

    Chuckles well black out curtian …… and i have wrapped a friend in it….. as an outfit

  4. 4 Jayme January 19, 2009 at 10:19 am

    Great idea for the black plastic, especially if you live in subzero temps during the winter. Brrrr!

    I used black plastic to solarize the weeds in my 4 by 30 foot parking strip before planting. After a few months, the weeds had literally disappeared.

    Then I chopped it all up for creepy Halloween decorations the following year.

    Best,
    Jayme


Leave a Reply

What Flower Are You?

Follow Me on Twitter

RSS Mother Earth News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
Support the Department of Peace banner- 150w
Add to Technorati Favorites
January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

