It’s National Sneak Some Zucchini onto Your Neighbor’s Porch Day!

Honest to goodness!

I left a fresh-picked cucumber on my neighbor’s patio last night. Today, after coming home from running some errands, my neighbor’s grown daughter was out back playing with their dog.

“Hey, Clarissa! Did you get the cucumber I left for you guys?” I asked.

She looked at me kind of funny as she said yes, thanks. “Did you know it’s National Give your neighbor some zucchini day?” she asked, thinking that was why I left the cuc.

“You’re kidding, right?” I laughed out loud at the appropriateness of such a holiday. For backyard gardeners  in zone 4/5 areas,  this is the time of the season when most of us have zucchini coming out of our ears! You can’t GIVE it away! And really, how much zucchini bread can a person eat?

After exchanging pleasantries with my neighbor I went inside and immediately googled this funny-sounding holiday. You know what? It’s even better than I thought!

It’s actually called National Sneak Some Zucchini onto Your Neighbor’s Porch Day! and a couple of the sites I found say the ritual actually consists of stealing over to your neighbor’s porch or patio under the cover of NIGHT and leaving all the zucchini you can get away with, including the ones that grew way too large and aren’t good for much other than as a receptacle for cucumber dip, or something like that. The following link provides the back story about how this holiday came to be AND a recipe for zucchini chocolate cake! Sounds yummy!

15 Responses to “It’s National Sneak Some Zucchini onto Your Neighbor’s Porch Day!”

  1. 1 cityslipper (food dryer home) August 8, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    This is my very favorite thing to do with zucchini, though eating it in zucchini bread is right up there. Strangest use I’ve seen for the stuff: I ran a bunch through the food processor and mixed it with ground beef, ground pork, breading, and seasonings to make sausage. The sausage links were notably green, but still quite sausagey.

    I hope National Sneak Some Zucchini onto Your Neighbor’s Porch Day brings you just as much joy as you give to your neighbors!

  2. 2 Patsy Bell Hobson August 8, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    How could I be so lucky? Why it’s practically patriotic to share the zukes. What a selfless act, I will be forever grateful to you for having posted this public service announcement.

  3. 3 Planning Plants to Plant September 24, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    How seriously cute and funny…I only wish I had some zukes that survived the rain and slugs this year…

  4. 5 Gardener Jack March 15, 2010 at 5:08 am

    What a great thing to do!!!

  5. 6 Robert Fogarty March 4, 2011 at 4:29 pm

    What a great story!!!

  6. 7 LED Grow Lights Man May 24, 2011 at 4:38 am

    Fun story! Thanks for the great pictures too!

  7. 8 Plant Cover Guru May 24, 2011 at 4:43 am

    My zukes always get killed by slugs! They’re so fun to grow though! Great story!

  8. 9 BEVERLY August 8, 2011 at 10:50 am


  9. 10 recetas de dulces caseros September 4, 2012 at 6:29 am

    Fantastic beat ! I wish to apprentice even as you amend your website, how could i
    subscribe for a weblog site? The account helped me a appropriate deal.
    I were a little bit familiar of this your broadcast offered brilliant clear concept

  10. 11 Felipa March 10, 2013 at 9:28 pm

    Wonderful beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your website, how can i subscribe for a blog website?
    The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been a little
    bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear concept

  11. 12 More Support April 9, 2013 at 10:51 pm

    Hello there, I discovered your website via Google while
    searching for a similar matter, your website got here up, it appears great.

    I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

  12. 13 drugs July 1, 2013 at 4:22 pm

    What you composed was very reasonable. However, think about this, suppose you were to create a
    awesome title? I ain’t suggesting your content isn’t solid.
    , but suppose you added a post title to possibly get folk’s attention? I mean Its National Sneak Some Zucchini onto Your Neighbors Porch Day! | Ask FarmerPhoebe is kinda boring. You could look at Yahoo’s front page and
    see how they create post headlines to grab people to click.

    You might try adding a video or a related pic or two to grab people interested about what you’ve got to say. Just my opinion, it might make your blog a little bit more interesting.

  13. 14 drinks to make you last longer in bed July 25, 2013 at 9:44 pm

    I pay a quick visit daily a few web sites and blogs to read articles, but this weblog gives feature based writing.

  1. 1 Great Pickle Project « Berry Bramble Cottage Trackback on August 7, 2011 at 9:03 am

Leave a Reply

Squirrel Problems at the Feeder? Get Back at ‘Em!

Don't you hate it when you go out to pick your strawberries that looked just perfect yesterday, only to find that those bushy-tailed rodents, otherwise known as squirrels, beat you to them?!

Or, how about when you've just re-filled the birdfeeder from that sack of seed you lugged home from the garden center - and next thing you know your beautiful songbirds are squawking and carrying on because - yet again - that pesky squirrel you can never seem to get rid of has showed up and taken over the feeder?! Don't you hate that?!

Well, I finally found a solution to the birdfeeder problem: The Droll Yankee Whipper

Check it out! I saw a home video on YouTube showing a squirrel after it stuffed itself on fermented pumpkin; sucker was so drunk it couldn't climb a tree! Talk about hilarious! When I posted the link on Twitter, one of my gardening buddies posted one for this squirrel-proof birdfeeder. Every time the squirrel tried to get at the birdfeed, its weight activated a battery-powered mechanism that spun the squirrel around until it went flying off the feeder! The birds are too light to activate it so they were able to resume eating. The Droll Yankee Whipper

Although this model costs more than the ones you can get at your local garden center, I'm willing to bet it more than pays for itself in the long run - in the cost of those heavy sacks of birdseed!

I definitely plan to get one of these birdfeeders; I've actually been shopping around to find just the right one, 'cause I know there are feeders out there that claim to be squirrel-proof that definitely are not.

Here's the one I'm going to get:
It's a little pricier than the other one, but after seeing the YouTube video (and after I quit laughing my head off) I am convinced this is the real deal. Don't believe me? Check out the video for yourself:
Now tell me that's not ingenious! Yardiac has both in stock whenever you're ready to order.
Droll Yankee Flipper 2008
The Droll Yankee Whipper

Do you already have a Yankee Flipper? What do you think? Is it worth the investment? Tweet me at @FarmerPhoebe or send me an e-mail at and let me know what you think, OK?

I am most grateful to my Twitter buddy Beth, who told me about these. She says they bought one for her father-in-law and that, and I quote, "he gets a lot of enjoyment out of it when squirrels are flying off of it!"

And before the animal rights activists get into a tizzy, it's not built to hurt the squirrels, just to deter them. And we gardeners know for a FACT how tough that is, right?! Here's the link once more.
The Droll Yankee Whipper
Droll Yankee Flipper 2008


FarmerPhoebe Says:

"Discover How You Can Grow Bigger, More Luscious Fruits & Vegetables—Even Flowers—Without Pesticides!"

Learn Gardening Secrets from the Experts, Like...

  • How to Get More & Healthier Vegetables with Less Work
  • Dispelling Myths About Compost (Your compost pile doesn't have to be a stinky, sticky mess)
  • How to Make Compost Tea That Will Fertilize Your Garden and Your Lawn
  • Easy, Real-world Tips on How to Control Pests Without Chemicals
  • How You Can Have Compost Ready to Use in as Few as 4 Weeks!
  •  And Much, Much More!

    Download Now



    Yardiac’s Got Your Back

    When I worked for my dad on his organic farm, my favorite tool was his rickety old little green garden scooter--especially in the strawberry patch! It was a handy way to work at plant level without stooping and bending but while remaining mobile; I'd finish weeding one section and just scoot along to the next!

    I found this scooter from (see link below) and it's what I wish I had on the farm: The pull rope is long enough for an adult, the seat's nicely padded-- and there's even a cup holder! It's like the Cadillac of garden scooters! Check it out and let me know what you think. Your back will thank you. Yardiac Garden Scooter


    What Flower Are You?

    RSS Twitter Updates

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
    Follow Me on Twitter

    RSS Mother Earth News

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
    Support the Department of Peace banner- 150w
    Add to Technorati Favorites
    August 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun    


    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

